KS Workers’ Comp Laws: What You Need to Know
The general rule in Kansas is that if you were injured during the course and scope of your employment by an anticipated and foreseeable risk of that employment, you are eligible to receive workers’ compensation benefits. Ordinarily, those workers’ compensation benefits are a worker’s sole and exclusive remedy. Here are some key provisions of Kansas workers’ compensation laws that the Wichita workers comp attorneys at the Franklin Law Office believes that every worker should know about.
Notice of Injury
An injured employee should provide written notice of his or her accident and injuries to the employer within 20 days of the date of the accident. The notice must state the date and time of the accident and the details of how it occurred. It must also contain the employee’s contact information, including the employee’s address.
In theory, an injured employee in Kansas has a choice of a treating physician. In reality, the employer is only responsible for payment of the first $500 of medical expenses. After that first $500, the employer remains responsible for payment of an injured employee’s medical bills, so long as the treatment was authorized.
Payment of temporary total disability (TTD) compensation is limited to 66.67% of the injured employee’s average weekly wage. No injured worker is permitted to receive more than $130,000 in TTD compensation. Permanent total disability compensation is limited to $155,000.
Workers’ compensation laws in Kansas are intended to be a compromise between business and labor, but workers’ compensation insurers often try to devalue claims to protect their bottom lines. The Wichita workers comp attorneys at the Franklin Law Office have your best interests in mind. Contact us right away to arrange for a free consultation and case assessment after being seriously injured in any work-related accident. Our objective is to protect your bottom line.